Skip to main content

PCL MS 229 Gary Hoppenstand Collection on Simon Scarrow


The Gary Hoppenstand Collection on Simon Scarrow consists of approximately 0.4 linear feet of manuscript materials. The collection was donated to the Browne Popular Culture Library by Gary Hoppenstand in 2017. More information can be obtained by contacting the archivist.  The collection has no restrictions placed on its use for scholarly purposes. Researchers are responsible for securing copyright permission when using all unpublished manuscripts and published works found in this collection.

Biographical Sketch

Simon Scarrow (born October 3, 1962) is an English author of military fiction, and is best known for his Eagles of the Empire series, which as of 2017 included 16 books. While mostly known for writing about the Roman military, his Revolution Quartet series focused on Napoleon and the Duke of Wellington.

Scope and Content

The collection includes edited drafts and manuscripts for three books in the Eagles of the Empire series. The books included are The Eagle's Conquest (published 2001), The Eagle's Prophecy (published 2005), and The Eagle in the Sand (published 2006).

Also included are several items signed by Scarrow, including a card, an unidentified manuscript page, and a DVD titled An Introduction to The Eagle Novels.

This collection provides insight into the writing process of a prolific genre fiction author, as well as the modern editing process.


Box 1

Folder Description Date
1 Edited First Draft- The Eagle's Conquest undated
2 Edited Manuscript- The Eagle's Prophecy undated
3 Edited Manuscript- The Eagle in the Sand undated
4 Items signed by Simon Scarrow undated