Skip to main content

PCL MS 005 Willo Davis Roberts Collection


Willo Davis Roberts was a writer of mystery, suspense, gothic, historical and juvenile novels. Literary manuscripts and galley sheets from seven of her works form the core of this collection.

In 1973, Willo Davis Roberts began transferring her manuscripts to the Browne Popular Culture Library, Bowling Green state University. The collection is open for research, however, the photocopying of manuscripts must comply with applicable copyright laws. This register was compiled by Nancy White Lee, Popular Culture Library Associate II, in March 1986 and updated in August 2009 by Patricia Falk.

Please note that the Grummond Children's Literature Collection located at the University of Southern Mississippi ( holds additional materials by Willo Davis Roberts.

Biographical Sketch

Willo Davis Roberts was born on May 29, 1928, in Grand Rapids, Michigan and graduated from high school in Pontiac, Michigan. On May 20, 1949, she married David W. Roberts, a writer and photographer. They have four children.

Roberts was a member of the Mystery Writers of America, Science Fiction Writers of America, Authors Guild of Authors League of America, and Seattle Freelances. She won the Evansville Book Award, 1979-80, and Young Hoosier Award, 1979-80; both for Don't Hurt Laurie! Roberts believed that a writer can become stale and needs a change of pace. Consequently she wrote in a variety of literary genres. She especially enjoyed writing for children because they wrote to her with enthusiasm about her stories. Roberts died November 19, 2004.

Scope and Content

The Willo Davis Roberts Collection consists of five manuscripts and two sets of galley sheets which represent seven books. Six of these books in published form are located at the end of the collection. The manuscripts and galley sheets are arranged chronologically.

Series Description

Literary Productions

Manuscripts (Literary)
Arranged chronologically.
Typed manuscripts, some with handwritten corrections by the author. This series includes five manuscripts and two sets of galley sheets.


Box 1
1 Nurse Kay's Conquest
(Printer's manuscript)
2 Once A Nurse
(Original manuscript with corrections)
3 Nurse At Mystery Villa
(Original manuscript)
4 Devil-Boy
(Printer's manuscript, pp. 1-100 )
5 Devil-Boy
(Printer's manuscript, pp. 101-209)
Box 2
1 Shroud Of Fog
(Printer's manuscript, pp. 1-165)
2 Waiting Darkness
(Galley sheets and master proofs)
3 Shadow Of A Past Love
(Galley sheets and master proof set)


The following books have been transferred from the collection to the Browne Popular Culture Library main stacks. Call numbers for these books may be found by clicking on the titles below.